Book Review: “A Little Friendly Advice” by Siobhan Vivian

Hi guys!

Late last night, I finished “A Little Friendly Advice” by Siobhan Vivian. I had started this book back in November/December of 2015, but I wasn’t able to finish it because the beginning was so slow for me. I picked it back up this month and once I got around the half-way point for the novel, I scolded myself for putting it down in the first place. The major theme for this book happens to be friendship.

Ruby’s father tries to come back into her life’s after leaving a few years prior to the book’s beginning. Ruby relies heavily on her friends to make herself feel whole again, but she just can’t seem to do it. Charlie moves from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania to Ruby’s hometown of Akron, Ohio. The two meet at a party and they hit it off quickly. They become a couple and seen quite happy, but when Charlie has to move back to Pittsburgh, Runy ends it. Ruby’s friends become distant from her and she becomes distant from them.  When Ruby finds out why her father left in the first place, she was furious. She acted out, almost losing everyone she cares about. Secrets, lies, and deception. What is a girl to do?

I cried at the ending. Honestly. It was so moving that I just couldn’t help it.

I’ve read one other book by Siobhan Vivian and I hope to read more by her. She is, by far, one of my favorite authors.

Leave a Reply

