Book Review: “Sweet Valley Confidential: Ten Years Later” by Francine Pascal *SPOILERS*

Hi everybody!

I finally got around to finishing this book and wow-wee was it an emotional roller coaster!

Ten years after Elizabeth and Jessica Wakefield graduate Sweet Valley High, things take a turn for the worse. Elizabeth moves to New York, friends die, divorce is in the air, and Todd finds a leading lady…..but it’s not whom you may expect.
** spoiler alert ** IF YOU DID NOT READ THIS BOOK AND DO NOT WANT IT SPOILED, PLEASE DO NOT READ THE REST OF THIS REVIEW!! PLEASE SKIP TO THE BOTTOM!!!

I liked this book, but at the same time, I didn’t.

I love Elizabeth. I hate Jessica. I mean, really?!?! Elizabeth was dating Todd. She got sick and couldn’t go to a party with Todd and told Jessica to take her place since they were identical twins……and Jessica and Todd HATED each other. They wound up having an affair and going behind Elizabeth’s back. And Jessica thinks it’s OKAY to betray her TWIN SISTER like that?!?! And then Jessica wonders why Elizabeth hates her and blames both her and Todd for betraying her!! Multiple times throughout the book, Jessica lies to Todd about her whereabouts and who she is with. And the time she went out with Michael for a drink (she told Michael that Todd was just a friend) and she told Todd that she was stuck at a meeting. And then, she consciously chose Todd over Michael, after contemplating dumping Todd for him and saving her relationship with Elizabeth. She ruined her brother’s marriage. She found out that he was gay and cheating on his wife. She then promised not to tell his wife because he would do it and then she turns around and tells her. She blatantly broke her promise. I have never hated a character before. I’ve disliked characters, but I’ve never hated them. I hate Jessica Wakefield.

The ending was just strange. I mean, why would Elizabeth forgive her sister and be the Maid of Honor in her wedding with Todd?

The only thing I really liked was when Bruce told Elizabeth he was in love with her. Elizabeth finally got her happy ending.

YOU CAN READ FROM THIS POINT ON!!!

All in all, I liked this book.

Until my next post,

Stephanie 

Leave a Reply

